Crabs In a Bucket

Most people who read this don’t follow me on twitter. (shameless plug) Go follow me now, I’ll wait……….ok good your back. My follower count had damn for sure better be higher when I log in next. The reason I mention twitter is I apologized for my lack of writing due to demands from the real world which obviously none of you give a shit about soooooo on with the show.

For those unfamiliar with the expression Crabs In A Bucket just click on the link for a good explanation of the theory or I’ll give you a half assed one here if you’re too lazy. What it basically boils down to is when crabs are placed in a bucket rather than let one crab escape they pull each other back down into the bucket. Being from the city I’ve never really witnessed a crab bucket battle royale but I’ll take their word for it on that’s how it goes down.

Since I've never seen it personally I'm going to pretend the crabs transform.

Now I was recently out-of-town with some guy friends for a reunion of sorts when what turned into a simple joke with a girl lead to the inspiration for this post.

Obviously none of you know me so you’ll have to take my word for it on this one(much like me taking the word of the crab bucket battle bots) but I flirt with almost every girl I meet. I look at every girl I meet like I want to fuck them. Now the reason I say this is because what lead to my wingman epiphany (ahhhhhh, get it, the crabs are the metaphorical wingmen) was completely and utterly harmless. Our annual guys trip this year was to a friends cabin and while on the way we stopped at the only store within miles to pick up some last second booze and food. The girl working there was maybe a Utah mountain region 6 which basically equates to a San Diego 4 if the math on my abacus is correct. As she rings us up she tells us about the impending snow storm and that there was a chance we could get snowed in at which point I joked about hoping she had a spare couch for me to crash on as opposed to being stuck in a cabin with all these dudes. Her response was that of silence coupled with a look that I proposed an all anal gangbang, not my finest hour but I was honestly just making a joke and conversation and so what if this mountain chick didn’t find me funny. After we leave the store a few of my friends set in on how she couldn’t have reacted any worse to which I definitely agreed. This was funny and I definitely deserved to be made fun of and needless to say I was but it also got me thinking how often some of the guys I’m with are so quick to make fun of those of us that pull girls whenever we don’t hit a homerun on an actual approach.

Quite possibly most of you already know this or have thought about it before but I don’t think it ever really struck me till this past weekend. When most men hear the term wingman you usually think of your buddy jumping on the grenade or your friend who’s great at entertaining a group of people while you play Sgt. Swoop on the girl you’re trying to get. This past week though another wingman service was brought to my attention. You want guys around you that are going to keep you in the right frame of mind, guys who are going to build you up not tear you down,  and preferably guys with balls who are also going to try to talk to girls rather than sit back in the cheap seats and criticize your every move when they don’t have the balls to even get in the game

Associate with men of good quality if you esteem your own reputation; for it is better to be alone than in bad company- George Washington

(well said George, that’s why the title of this blog is Going Dolo)

(I’m sure my man The Rookie will give me grief for my selection of another emo rap song this week but what the hell, I love Kanye and his new album is dope)

7 responses to “Crabs In a Bucket

  1. I think it’s absolutely true! You need guys that got your back and give you good positive vibes and constructive criticisms. It’s funny I was just having that conversation with two of my “PUA” friends last night!!

    • Im an absolute egomaniac so I dont want their constructive criticisms since I always think I can figure things out internally. Agreed on the rest though, I dont need them bringing me down with mopey ass attitudes.

  2. i’ll pass on the emo tunes lol. i can’t say i’ve ever had friends that tried to pull me back in the bucket, but i’ve definitely had friends who would act all emo when they saw a girl they liked. in that sense it brings you down emotionally

    • Yeah, I was just kind of looking at it from all angles emotionally definitely included. Those dudes with the emo downer attitudes can suck you in like a black hole. I promise next post wont have an emo rap song attached to it. haha

  3. Pingback: Linkage is Good for You: Arise, Men of the West! Edition

  4. Pingback: Sleeping with Girls from the Gym by Planting the Seed | Going Dolo

  5. I can’t seem to be able to reach this post from my iphone!

Leave a Reply

