Calm Down Superfan

Recently I was out with some friends at Happy Hour when talked turned to the NBA playoff game that was on. After the discussion I thought about how little I gave a fuck about the game. Then I began to try to remember when the last time was that I watched an entire professional sporting event, since I had no shot in hell at remembering that I then tried to remember when I actually GAVE a shit about one and still no answer. I was kind of confused by this as someone who played sports and grew up obsessing over them when did I suddenly stop caring about them?

Outside of general like for the sport they are watching I believe a lot of guys (a lot not ALL) like sports for one of two reasons  1) their lives are kind of boring and sports is a way to pass the time or 2) their lives are crappy and they lose themselves in hero worship.When thinking back to my childhood the reason I cared about sports so much is because I wanted to BE Michael Jordan or Joe Montana or whoever else was the current superstar. I looked up to them, I idolized them, and to me they could do no wrong, they were like real life superheroes. When I got older though I stopped looking at them this way and athletes just became some dudes who could throw a ball further than me or jump higher than me, I stopped looking at them through a childs eyes and they became infinitely less interesting. Talking about girls, making money, business, and a host of other subjects became more fun to me than talking about sports since they were all things I could directly control. I know guys who if their favorite teams loses a game it ruins their day, I’ve seen two guys I know almost come to blows over Kobe Bryant. I mean neither of these guys knows Kobe Bryant and you can bet your ass Kobe doesn’t give a fuck about them so what would possess two grown men to fight over another grown man who they’ve never met!? When I see a grown man wearing a sports jersey to a bar screaming at a tv all I can do is shake my head. The only time you should be wearing a jersey is if you’re playing.

I'm pretty sure he doesn't play for the Spurs, don't quote me on that though.

With this being said I still watch SportsCenter and have a general grasp of whats going on in the sporting world and can appreciate a great play in any sport. It’s just nowhere near the top of what I feel important anymore, I wish I could say the same for a lot of other guys.

Song of the week by my man Donnis, the weather is warming up and this song has got a good uptempo summertime kind of feel to it.

Hit a blog # milestone this week so thanks to everyone that reads. Follow me on twitter at http://twitter.com/goingdolo

3 responses to “Calm Down Superfan

  1. I like sports. I have favorite teams, but I’d never put my emotional health on the rack for a team. If they end up sucking this year, they deserve derision. And, sadly, most of my teams get it every year.

  2. See this shit every classic Real Madrid vs Barcelona, its very sad.

    By the way, I’m glad you’re back on track with the blog bro, keep it up.

  3. Honestly,I believe watching sports is pretty juvenile.I gave that shit up like 10 years ago when I became more interested in girls.

    Participating is another story.But staying home watching sports,when you could be doing something else is pretty lame.

Leave a Reply

